Home - Our Company - Board of Directors
Board Of Directors

Our Board of Directors

Mr. Nizar KammourieDirector

Mr. Kammourie heads the Water Division of the privately-owned Saudi Brothers Commercial Group, which consists of three companies. Under his management, SAWACO Water Desalination, Saudi Arabia’s first private water utility, has expanded its output capacity and extended its operating model to include Build/Own/Transfer (BOT) concessions. Suido Kiko Middle East (SKME), a Japanese-Saudi EPC venture in the water treatment field, has secured many significant projects in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia within a short span of time. Its clientele include the Ministry of Water and Electricity, Municipal Authorities, National Water Company, and other leading public/private sector organizations/industries. SKME has been the recipient of various prestigious international awards and recognitions. Chemsbro is a specialty chemical services provider for the water treatment industry in Saudi Arabia and has established collaborations with leading international chemical suppliers. Mr. Kammourie is the Director of the Business Development Unit (INDUSTRIAL) of Saudi Brothers Commercial Group. The Water Division's companies were all spun-off from the Business Development Unit. He holds Degrees in Civil Engineering and Math from the American University of Beirut.

Mr. Sunil Ghorawat Director

Mr. Ghorawat is a serial water entrepreneur, founder and CEO of Earth Water Group, a leading integrated emerging market water platform with a focus on South Asia. The Earth Water Group consists of system integration (Fontus Water), value added distribution (Aventura), analytics (Everything About Water) and several group businesses. Fontus has over 2,000 installations and a broad customer base of industrial, commercial and government clients. Aventura has one of the most robust distribution channels in India with an established set of brands. The Group has a track record of scaling water businesses, especially in emerging markets and creating value for shareholders. Prior to starting the Earth Water Group, Mr. Ghorawat was the Managing Director for the Indian subcontinent of Pentair Corporation, one of the largest water-treatment and pump companies in the world. He has built strong relations with a number of industries and key water professionals globally. He is a graduate of St. Xavier’s College (Kolkata, India) and a management graduate of Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio).

Dr. Barry J. ShelpDirector and Secretary

Dr. Shelp is co-founder and director of Current Water Technologies Inc. With the exception of one year, he has served on the board since the company's inception. In addition, he is professor of plant physiology/biochemistry in the Department of Plant Agriculture at the University of Guelph. Dr. Shelp has expertise in plant nutrition and plant response to environmental contaminants, revegetation of reclaimed sites and environmental impact studies, and production of major crop plants with improved ability to tolerate pests and environmental stresses using state-of-the-art biochemical and molecular techniques. Dr. Shelp earned his B.Sc. and M.Sc. degrees in Biology and Plant Physiology, respectively, from Brock University, and his PhD degree in Plant Physiology from Queen's University. He was an NSERC Canada Post-doctoral Fellow at the University of Western Australia and at Carleton University. He later joined the University of Guelph as an NSERC Canada University Research Fellow, and achieved the rank of Full Professor. He is the author or co-author of more than 100 refereed publications in the scientific literature. Dr. Shelp has served as Associate Editor for both the Canadian Journal of Plant Science and the Canadian Journal of Botany, and is currently a member of the Advisory Board of the Journal of Experimental Botany, and the Co-editor of the Canadian Journal of Botany. 

Mr. Edward TsangDirector

Mr. Edward Tsang was elected at the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders on August 26, 2011, to join Current Water Technologies Inc.  as director, and Chief Financial Officer. Mr. Tsang is a Professional Engineer of Ontario and holds Bachelor of Applied Science and Bachelor of Commerce degrees from the University of Windsor. Mr. Tsang was employed by H.J Heinz from 1980 to 1993. As a senior officer, his roles included General Manager/CEO of Heinz-UFE Ltd., located in The People’s Republic of China, and General Manager – Engineering, Heinz Bakery Products, North America. He has broad experience working with domestic and international businesses as President and CEO of Zephyr Alternative Power Inc., a company which he co-founded. Mr. Tsang has applied his expertise to the development and commercialization of motors and patented, unique wind turbine technologies. An active volunteer in his community, Mr. Tsang was a member of the World Trade Committee of the Metro Toronto Board of Trade for six years, and until recently, was a member of the Environmental Advisory Committee for the Township of King, Ontario.

Dr. Gene S. ShelpDirector, President and C.E.O.

Dr. Shelp is co-founder, and President and Chief Executive Officer of Current Water Technologies Inc. Dr. Shelp is a professional geoscientist with about ten years experience in mining and fifteen years experience in water treatment, with emphasis on water quality issues associated with development, operation and decommissioning of mine sites. Over the past twenty plus years, Dr. Shelp has spearheaded the development of the company's electrochemical water treatment technologies for remediating surface waters, groundwater, and municipal and industrial process and waste waters contaminated with metals, ammonia and nitrate. He earned undergraduate degrees in Wildlife Management and Earth Sciences, and a PhD in Environmental Geochemistry from the University of Guelph, as well as a M.Sc. degree in Geology from Queen's University. He was an NSERC Canada Industry Post-doctoral Fellow at the University of Guelph. 

Zachery DingsdaleDirector

Founder and director of Tangent Management Corp. and Director of Hinterland Metals Corp. President & CEO of Taku Gold Corp. 2003 – 2017 and Director of Arrowhead Gold Corp. 2007 – 2015.